List of Vice-President in India

The Vice-President of India is the second highest constitutional office in the country after The President of India. He serves for a five-year term. Article 63 of The Indian Constitution states that there shall be a Vice-President.

Article 66 of The Indian Constitution states the process of election of Vice-President of India. The Vice-President is elected by members indirectly,  of an electoral college  insisting members of both the Houses of Parliament.

Vice President of India also act as chairperson of Rajya Sabha. He receives his salary as chairman of Rajya Sabha not as vice- president. Below is the list of Vice President in India

List of Vice- President of India

Sl. Name Period
1 Dr. S RadhaKrishnan 1952 – 1957, 1957 – 1962
2 Dr. Zakir Hussain 1962    1967
3 Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1967    1969
4 Gopal Swarup Pathak 1969    1974
5 Basappa Danappa Jatti 1974    1979
6 Muhammad Hidayat Ullah 1979    1984
7 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 1984    1987
8 Shankar Dayal Sharma 1987    1992
9 Kocheril Raman Narayanan 1992    1997
10 Krishan Kant 1997    2002
11 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 2002    2007
12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari 2007  —current

Check List of Presidents of India

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *