Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG)

Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG)

Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) is a group of nuclear supplier countries that are allowed to trade in & export nuclear material technology. NSG was formed in 1974. At that time,  there was limit exports of nuclear equipment, materials and technology. In the same year 1974, India tested nuclear weapon.

In 1968 according to Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), to maintain global peace nuclear weapons are prohibited. NPT mention that only 5 countries will allow keeping nuclear weapons. Five county included are USA, UK, Russia, France & China and rest have no authority. NPT was signed by 191 countries. But India was not accepted. India does not accept because they thought that agreement is discriminatory. Also security will be at risk in modern world without nuclear weapons.

India entry was opposed by china into Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG). As India was not signed for NPT so Chine opposes it. China demands that if India signed NSG then Pakistan should also sign it. China wants that India and Pakistan should together accept or otherwise none should accept. Not only chine, many countries oppose the sign of India in Nuclear Suppliers Group. Turkey, Austria, Ireland, New Zealand was highly opposing the India entry into NSG. The only reason was the opposition of India while NPT.

ON THE OTHER HAND USA, UK, Russia, Australia, Japan, Mexico, Canada and French have shown support to India’s membership in Nuclear Suppliers Group . During the summit by NSG, in 2008, India made a formal pledge that it would not share nuclear technology with others and will not test nuclear weapons.

As of 2016 the Nuclear Suppliers Group ( NSG ) has 48 members:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • China
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *