Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honour given for the exceptional service towards advancement of Country. The Bharat Ratna was Instituted on 2 January 1954.

The Bharat Ratna recipients receive a Certificate signed by the President and a Peepal leaf ( Fig tree leaf / Ficus religiosa  ) shaped medal. There is no monetary grant associated with the award.

The award was originally limited to achievements in the arts, literature, science and public services but the Indian Government modified the criteria to include “any field of human endeavor” in December 2011.

There is no formal nomination process for the award. The Prime minister of India can only recommend for the award to the President with a maximum of three nominees per year.

Few Points

==> It was instituted on 2nd january 1954

==> Recipients receive a certificate signed by the President and a medal (medal is having the shape of Peepal leaf with an image of sun over it

along with the word Bharat Ratna inscribed on it in Devnagari script.

==> There is no monetary grant associated with this award.

==> It is awarded by the Government of India.

==> 1st awardee = C.Rajagopalachari, C.V.Raman & Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (in year 1954).

==> The first person to be awarded posthumously was the India’s former P.M. Lal Bahadur Shastri, in year 1966.

==> The youngest person to receive this award is India’s famous Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar in year 2013.

==> The oldest person to receive this award was social reformer Dhondo Keshav Karve in year 1958.

==> The first sportsperson to receive this award is Sachin Tendulkar in year 2013.

==> 2 Non-Indians who got this award :- Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan of Pakistan in 1987 & S.African President Nelson Mandela in 1990.

==> The award was briefly suspended twice in its history :- From July 1977 to January 1980 & From August 1992 to December 1995.

==> As of 2014, there has been 12 posthumous declaration of this award.

==> As of 2014, this honourable award has been given to 45 persons.

List of Bharat Ratna Awardees


Name Year Resident Field
Shri Atal Vihari BajpayeePt.Madan Mohan Malviye 2014 /15 Delhi Public Affairs
Shri CNR Rao 2014 Karnataka Chemistry (Scientist)
Shri Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar 2014 Maharashtra Sports
Late Pandit Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi 2008 Karnataka Arts
Kumari Lata Dinanath Mangeshkar 2001 Maharashtra Arts
Late Ustad Bismillah Khan 2001 Uttar Pradesh Arts
Prof. Amartya Sen 1999 United Kingdom Literature & Education
Lokpriya Shri Gopinath Bordoloi 1999 Assam Public Affairs
Late Shri Loknayak Jayprakash Narayan 1999 Bihar Public Affairs
Pandit Ravi Shankar 1999 United States Arts
Shri Chidambaram Subramaniam 1998 Tamil Nadu Public Affairs
Smt. M.S. Subbulakshmi 1998 Tamil Nadu Arts
Dr APJ Abdul Kalam 1997 Delhi Science and Engineering (Scientist)
Late Smt. Aruna Asaf Ali 1997 Delhi Public Affairs
Shri Gulzari Lal Nanda 1997 Gujarat Public Affairs
Shri JRD Tata 1992 Maharashtra Trade & Industry
Md Abul Kalam Azad 1992 West Bengal Public Affairs
Shri Satyajit Ray 1992 West Bengal Arts
Shri Morarji Ranchhodji Desai 1991 Gujarat Public Affairs
Shri Rajiv Gandhi 1991 Delhi Public Affairs
Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel 1991 Gujarat Public Affairs
Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedakar 1990 Maharashtra Public Affairs
Dr. Nelson Mandela 1990 South Africa Public Affairs
Shri Marudur Gopalan Ramachandran 1988 Tamil Nadu Public Affairs
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987 Pakistan Social Work
Shri Acharya Vinoba Bhave 1983 Maharashtra Social Work
Mother Teresa 1980 West Bengal Social Work
Shri Kumaraswamy Kamraj 1976 Tamil Nadu Public Affairs
Shri V.V. Giri 1975 Orissa Public Affairs
Smt. Indira Gandhi 1971 Uttar Pradesh Public Affairs
Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri 1966 Uttar Pradesh Public Affairs
Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane 1963 Maharashtra Social Work
Dr. Zakir Hussain 1963 Andhra Pradesh Public Affairs
Dr. Rajendra Prasad 1962 Bihar Public Affairs
Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy 1961 West Bengal Public Affairs
Shri Purushottam Tandon 1961 Uttar Pradesh Public Affairs
Dr. Dhondo Keshav Karve 1958 Maharashtra Social Work
Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant 1957 Uttar Pradesh Public Affairs
Dr. Bhagwan Das 1955 Uttar Pradesh Literature & Education
Shri Jawaharlal Nehru 1955 Uttar Pradesh Public Affairs
Dr. M. Vishweshwariah 1955 Karnataka Civil Service
Shri Chakravarti Rajagopalachari 1954 Tamil Nadu Public Affairs
Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan 1954 Tamil Nadu Public Affairs
Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman 1954 Tamil Nadu Science & Engineering (Scientist)



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *