Param Vir Chakra Award

Param Vir Chakra Award is India’s highest defence honour awarded for the highest degree of courage and bravery in the battlefield (during war / in front of enemy ).

Param Vir Chakra Award was established on 26 January 1950 by the President of India, with effect from 15 August 1947. It is the second highest award of India after Bharat Ratna.

Since Indpendence Only 21 Awards were made. In which 14 were honored posthumous. Of the 21 Awardees, 20 are from the Indian Army and one from the Indian Air Force.

List of Param Vir Chakra Award Winner since Independence


1Major Som Nath Sharma4th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment11 March 1947Honored  Posthumous
2Lance Naik Karam Singh1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment13 October 1948
3Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba RaneCorps of Engineers04 August 1948
4Naik Jadu Nath Singh1st Battalion, Rajput Regiment01 February 1948Honored  Posthumous
5Company Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat6th Battalion, Rajputana Rifles17 -18 July 1948Honored  Posthumous
6Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria3rd Battalion, 1st Gorkha Rifles (The Malaun Regiment)12 May 1961Honored  Posthumous
7Major Dhan Singh Thapa1st Battalion, 8th Gorkha Rifles20 October 1962
8Subedar Joginder Singh1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment23 October 1962Honored  Posthumous
9Major Shaitan Singh13th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment18 November 1962Honored  Posthumous
10Company Quarter Master Havildar Abdul Hamid4th Battalion, The Grenadiers09 October 1965Honored  Posthumous
11Lieutenant-Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore17th Poona Horse15 October 1965Honored  Posthumous
12Lance Naik Albert Ekka14th Battalion, Brigade of the Guards12 March 1971Honored  Posthumous
13Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh SekhonNo.18 Squadron, Indian Air Force14 December 1971Honored  Posthumous
142/Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal17th Poona Horse16 December 1971Honored  Posthumous
15Major Hoshiar Singh3rd Battalion, The Grenadiers17 December 1971
16Naib Subedar Bana Singh8th Battalion, Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry23 June 1987
17Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran8th Battalion, Mahar Regiment25 November 1987Posthumous
18Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey1st Battalion, 11th Gorkha Rifles07 March 1999Honored  Posthumous
19Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav18th Battalion, The Grenadiers07 April 1999
20Rifleman Sanjay Kumar13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles07 May 1999
21Captain Vikram Batra13th Battalion, Jammu & Kashmir Rifles07 June 1999Honored  Posthumous