List of Presidents in India

The President of India is regarded as the supreme head of the state who exercises the whole executive power of the union.

 By the 42nd Amendment Act, it was made compulsory that the President should always work under the advice of the Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister. Again, under the 44th Amendment Act, the President was given power to ask the Cabinet to reconsider its advice. But after reconsideration of the advice he must act according to that.

The President of India is elected by an “Electoral college” consisting of the elected members of the Lok Sabha, the Rajya Sabha and the State Legislative Assemblies. He is paid a salary of rs.1.50 lakh p.m. He is provided with an official residence and he is entitled to many other perks and many more facilities.

List of Presidents in India





Dr. Rajendra Prasad1950   –  1962
2Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan 1962   –  1967
3Dr.Zakir Hussain1967   –  1969
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1969  –  1969
Md. Hidayatullah1969  –  1969
4Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1969  –  1974
5Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 1974  –  1977
Basappa Danappa Jatti1977  –  1977
6Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 1977 –  1982
7Giani Zail Singh 1982  –  1987
8 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 1987  –  1992
9Shankar Dayal Sharma 1992   –  1997
10Kocheril Raman Narayanan 1997  –  2002
11Dr. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam 2002  –  2007
12Pratibha Patil 2007 –  2012
13Pranab Mukherjee 2012 -2017
14Shri Ram Nath Kovind2017  –  current

Updated Dec, 2017


Check The President of India and His Powers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *